Musée Missisquoi Museum

Musée Missisquoi Museum

More Poetry Please

[SUMMER 2020] By Heather Darch In 1904, a sixteen-year old Tom Eliot, while camping on the shores of Lake Memphremagog, climbed Mount Orford and wrote a poem about his adventure. It’s not a good poem! As Dr. Philip…

Chinese Musée Missisquoi Museum

The Laundryman

[SPRING 2020] By Heather Darch On August 16, 1896 a small classified ad in the Bedford Times stated that: “Mr. Wah Lee opens his laundry in the old cheese manufacturer, close to the covered bridge (61 rue du Pont).” This…

Paulina Reynolds Musée Missisquoi Museum

Paulina Reynolds

  [WINTER 2019-20] By Heather Darch The village of Lagrange, also known as Hunter’s Mills, was at one time an active mill community. At its centre was the Lagrange Woollen Mill where wool was cleaned, carded, spun into…

tanneries Musée Missisquoi Museum

No singing on the job

[FALL 2019] By Heather Darch From the early 1800s, tanneries where animal hides were processed to make leather were located along the Rivière aux Brochets in Missisquoi County. Early entrepreneurs had easy access to the river. They understood the…

James Moir Ferres Musée Missisquoi Museum

A Bee in his Bonnet

[SUMMER 2019] By Heather Darch   When we read through our splendid Le Tour and other local papers published in the Townships today, it might come as a surprise to know that at one time our newspapers were used for…

Heather Darch Musée Missisquoi Museum

A Sugar-coated Past

[SPRING 2019] By Heather Darch Catherine MacDonald was given her silver sugar tongs as a wedding present from her adoptive mother around 1760 when she married John Currie at Caldwell Manor (Noyan), Quebec. They were cherished by Catherine and subsequently…

Si vous aimez, svp partager! If you like this, then please share!